Home » Uncategorized » Back To The Present

Back To The Present

I’ve done all my looking back for now and it’s time to use this blog to look forward.  A friend sent me this recently, so I thought it would be an ideal way to at least consider where I am at the moment

1.  What are your current obsessions?

It should be desperately looking for a new job but I haven’t even started job-hunting yet. Mainly because I have been trying to motivate my son into taking some interest in his A-levels this summer!  In a bid to help him go over stuff, I have re-discovered my love of Macbeth and I have fallen in love with Mary Shelley’s “Frankenstein”.  How did I never read this before?  I guess I have become a bit obsessed with finding out as much as I can about it and the more I find, the more I love this book. I wish I could become equally obsessed with American politics (which he’s also studying) but their Constitution just doesn’t do it for me!

2. Who would you most like to have dinner with?

My Dad.  I miss him terribly, even though he died nearly fourteen years ago.

3. Last dream you had?

That all the windows and doors in my house were open and a whole load of bee-like things flew in and my daughter (who had turned into a little girl again) was having a panic attack and I didn’t want to leave her but I knew I had to get to the front of the house to lock the doors as masked men were trying to get in. I woke up in a sweat !  I’m pretty good at dream analysis but that one has got me stumped.

4. Last thing you bought?

A hoodie!

5. What are you listening to?

I have been helping my son put together his portfolio and in the process we have put together a selection of songs from the three musicals he has composed.  I know he’s my boy, but I think he’s brilliant!  I could listen to his music all day…in fact, I have been !

6. If you were a goddess who would you be?

Not if – I’d like to think I already AM one !!

7. Favourite holiday spots?

Anywhere in Italy!

8. Reading right now?

I should say something clever and worthy but actually it’s an old copy of Men’s Health that I found while clearing out the garage.  Particularly fascinated by 25 Tips To Make Your Woman Beg For More.  I’ve just left it on husband’s side of the bed !!

9. Four words to describe yourself.

Loud, flirtatious, listener, high-maintenance

10. Guilty pleasure?

I watch “Once Upon A Time” on Channel 5, but I don’t want anyone to know that I’m even aware Channel 5 exists

11. Who or what makes you laugh until you’re weak?

Most of my friends and in recent years, both my children. Oh, and that M&Ms advert always gets me – .”Get in the bowl” …”You get in the bowl”  !!! I’m laughing now…..

12. Favourite summer thing to do?

Days out with the family, picnics, barbecues and marvelling at how beautiful everything looks in the sunshine…..when we get it!!

13. Planning to travel to next?

Paris, I think – in a couple of weeks.  Whoo hooo….

14. Best thing you ate or drank lately?

I made Gordon Ramsay’s carrot and pineapple muffins on Sunday afternoon and they were DELICIOUS !  I ate three !!

15. When did you last get tipsy?

At a party just after Easter. Actually it was quite a bit more than typsy.  My children were very embarrassed and it took me a week to recover!

16. Favourite ever film?

Not sure. There are so many.  The one I think about a lot is “Closer” with Jude Law and Clive Owen – an excellent study in how cruel people can be to each other

17. Care to share some wisdom?

The past is history, the future is a mystery, but today is a gift – that’s why they call it the present, so accept it joyfully and make the most of it.

18. What item could you not live without?

Nivea cream – the thick gloopy stuff in the blue tin.  It’s fabulous!

19. Thing you are looking forward to?

For my son’s A-levels and my daughter’s Finals to be over so that we can finally have some fun together

20. What’s your favourite smell?

Freshly cut grass

21. What food makes you heave?

Liver and Beetroot – why would anyone eat either of those things?

12 thoughts on “Back To The Present

  1. Popped over from my comments section where you were kind enough to leave some words. I’m with you on favorite smell – what’s a beetroot?

    I know a fellow who does lighting for BBC productions. He’s a marvelous photographer!

  2. Glad you are looking forward, .. It takes courage to step out from the secure space of that which we have known for so long.. For me it was the textile industry for 30 yrs… So I empathise with you .. Paris I have been driven through but never stayed in the capital, always somewhere else in France.. but my daughter loves it.. so I hope you have a great time in a couple of weeks..
    As for the Beetroot… you dont know whats good for you! LOL… I will leave you a link on my post which you commented on, To show you what healing properties it has! 🙂
    Enjoy your weekend.. 🙂 and keep looking forward ..
    Sue

  3. What a cool post! Thanks for sharing!
    I love the smell of freshly cut grass too! And the way it smells after a rainstorm!
    My Mom died 11 years ago and I miss her so much too!

  4. Thank you for your lovely message. This is an exciting adventure for you leaving the world of BBC. I’m going to read your previous posts now to catch up. Ah, Italia. Have a great trip to Paris!

  5. With you on the smell of fresh grass, but I have a sneaking fondness for liver (but with cream or yoghurt rather than beetroot, though I might be tempted to give that a try). It is lovely to rediscover some literary favourites, and some new insights (I discovered I actually quite liked Jane Austen, first time around I couldn’t abide her). With you on the American constitution though….

  6. haha i already am one….heartfelt answer as well on it being your dad….i imagine my wifes would be her mom….gordon ramsay rocks too….i bet that was good…..ah looking forward to summer myself to def have a bit of fun…smiles.

  7. Italy is absolutely one of my favorite places, too. My husband and I were there for a few days a couple years ago, and I’d really like to go back to Europe to JUST travel around Italy for a few weeks. I loved it there so much!

  8. Just to be clear….I wasn’t talking about Liver and Beetroot as a single dish – that really would be hell on a plate! It’s just that they are probably the only two food items that make me me want to wretch!
    And yes, Gordon Ramsay is fab. If it wasn’t for him (and Jamie and Nigel) my family would have been condemned to sausage and chips every night
    And Italy…well Italy must be heaven on earth.

Leave a Reply

